MHL Project Preview: Pink Rose Fascinator

FASCINATOR sounds like a name for an evil siren-like villain, a temptress that could paralyze men with her fatal beauty.

But, really, according to… errr… Wikipedia, a fascinator was originally a “fine, lacy head covering akin to a shawl and made from wool or lace”.  By the 70’s, it had acquired a new meaning: “a delicate, slightly-to-very frivolous head decoration worn almost exclusively by women”.

I like fascinators.  I like women who wear them.  Only the brave and the bold ones (and a few, let’s face it, slightly delusional ones) can wear them with conviction.  Sometimes, I see women who wear flowered or frilled headbands but I feel they lack confidence to go for the real attention-getter version.  For the shy and reserved me, a fascinator is an ATTITUDE BAROMETER.  If I wake up one day and itch to wear one, I know that I’m feeling very good about myself.

I made this pretty Pink Rose Fascinator using tulle and felt.  I sewed everything together.  I understand why some people prefer using the glue gun for their projects, but I’ve always had an aversion to gluing things I wear.  I’ve had a couple of those in the past and they never last because, after a while, the glue gives up.  It also ruins the fabric, and makes it useless for recycling.

When I wore this out, I was feeling pretty good about myself.  I noticed some curious stares but, thankfully, I never got ones that said: “what-was-she-thinking?”  A couple women stared at my head then gave me an approving nod.  A guy passed me and said, “Hey, nice hair thingie”.  So I’m pretty pleased with it.

I know, I know.  The Pink Rose Fascinator is quite understated, almost conservative.  One day, I’m going to make a big one — a real show stopper!  One that would say: “Hey, Everybody!  I feel snazzy today!  Look at me!!!”  And if I’m brave, I’d wear it in public.  It would be the perfect thing to wear to a performance. Imagine that!  Me rocking Mildred with a huge freaking fascinator topping my head!!!

Possibly after downing a glass of wine.

7 thoughts on “MHL Project Preview: Pink Rose Fascinator

  1. Miss Cabel, I would so totally wear your fascinator to school! (I didn’t know that that was what they were called) You look so cute in your first photo. 😀

    Thanks, Mr. Pringles! You know, it would totally suit your personality, and you’d be one of the few people who’d have the guts to wear it to UP. 😀

  2. Lol – I talk about how I dislike people using glue when they can sew in my post today! Small world. And I haven’t worn too many of my fascinators this season, yet. I tend to stop in winter they get squished under hats, and then I forget about them, and then I remember and wear them non-stop for 5 months. Hmmm, is it remember time, yet?

    If it isn’t too warm there, then I think it’s time. Another pet peeve of mine: something that seem so well-made, then when you turn it over, you see nothing but sloppy stitches. It’s like the person who made it doesn’t care for the quality of what can’t be seen.

    • I know! My great-grandma taught my grandma to sew, who taught my mom, who taught me, and the very first lesson is: it has to look as good on the back as it does on the front. To this day, whenever I see a piece of embroidery, I turn it over and look at the back right away.

      I got it from my mom, too. 🙂

    • Millie says:

      Oh man, don’t look at the underside of some of my stuff, then :p For some reason, my handstitching is either really wobbly and erratic or pin straight and even. No middle ground for me, apparently!

      Fascinators totally are attitude barometers! And yours looks snazzy 🙂

      Thanks, Millie. I don’t hand stitch really well but I always try to put a lining or cover over my sloppy work. Hehehe

Leave a Reply

