MHL Upcycle: The Happy Pack Rat

Call me the happy pack rat.

Before a happy pack rat throws anything away, she asks herself: “What if I’ll need this in the future?”  So many things stay because they have potential for transformation.  There is that problem of storage and organization.  But there is also the delight in rediscovering odds and ends after years of incubation.  It’s like finding a lost friend, or looking at someone familiar with fresh eyes.

It’s a challenge for me to find some use for things that I keep.  Sometimes it takes a second.  Sometimes, years.  But most of them get to undergo their metamorphosis.  Hopefully, all of them will.  There are times when I look at my workstation (B calls it my ‘showroom’), and I think, what will happen to you guys if I suddenly die?  The thought of leaving things unfinished is always an effective form of motivation.  Time’s a wasting.  I’m not growing any younger.  To quote the brave Bohemians of Rent, there is no day but today.  So get on moving, girl.

I made this pendant about 20 years ago.  I was just starting out my freshman year as a music major.  We wore uniforms in high school so I didn’t have a lot of clothes.  In college, I made up for that by making some out of hand-me-downs from my family, including my dad and brother.  I made my own accessories from ordinary everyday things.  I even made my own sandals.  I was very brave in wearing the things I made.  It was conviction that fueled my courage.  Even then, I was an advocate for recycling.

She is made of . . .

. . . a couple of beads and a nylon string.

The earring was my aunt’s. She lost its partner then broke the hook.

The stop came from my mom’s empty perfume bottle.  It was from one of those miniature versions that I’ve always found adorable.

The leather came from an old shoelace.

Everything was something most people would consider trash.  But you know what they say about that.  Someone’s trash is the happy pack rat’s treasure.

7 thoughts on “MHL Upcycle: The Happy Pack Rat

  1. cato says:

    it really doesn’t look recycled! i don’t doubt the creative juices you have. πŸ˜€ grabe, even from first year college, gumagawa ka na ng mga ganyan. haha! πŸ™‚

    i think i use more filipino in my comments now than before… random observing comment lang.

    Hahaha! Filipino away, dearie! I don’t mind at all. πŸ˜€ Thanks!

  2. NO DAAAAY BUT TODAAAAAY! I love Rent! πŸ˜€

    I wish I had the same patience as you in keeping stuff. I’m usually tempted to give/throw away stuff I don’t have immediate use for. It’s sad I know.

    The necklace is so pretty!

    Thanks, Mr. Pringles! πŸ˜€ Sometimes I get frustrated with how much stuff I have and need to organize. So there’s also value in giving things away. Throwing would be my very last resort.

  3. Alyssa says:

    It’s pretty. It is, it is πŸ™‚
    I certainly wouldn’t have thought that all those materials could somehow be turned into an accessory. Kudos for your creativity, miss πŸ™‚

    Thank you, dearie! πŸ˜€

    Now that you’re in college, do you call your professors “miss” or “ma’am”? πŸ˜›

    • Alyssa says:

      I call them Miss. Sometimes not even Miss *insert last name here* – it replaced ‘cher’ as the default name I call my teachers. Heehee :))

      Yes. It’s like Val Consunji calling me “ma’am” all of a sudden because that’s how we do it in UP.

  4. Sue says:

    You really have given me inspiration for cleaning out my stuff in the backroom so I can finish/start a project or two. Next time you are around, I’ll show you all my stuff. Yarn, fabrics, cross stitch threads, books, they are everywhere back there, but I’ll try to clean it first though :-).

    Thanks! I’m looking forward to it, Sue! Good luck with the cleaning! πŸ˜€

  5. taty says:

    wow…now i’ll think twice about throwing away stuff!! i never remember seeing you wear these in college, alma.. : )

    Hmmm… Maybe because they didn’t look like they were recycled stuff? I love making accessories out of ‘trash’ but I don’t want them to look like they were recycled. And, yes! Think twice before throwing away stuff. Now that you have kiddies, you can use them for fun projects they could enjoy. πŸ˜€

  6. Katie says:

    There you are! I’ve missed you!

    I love the necklace – the perfume stopper looks like a very expensive crystal bead.

    I’m impressed at how resourceful you are in reusing what’s around you. I love to reincarnate objects, but I’m usually unable to come up with the initial idea myself. So I shameless steal from others’ brilliance. And now I know exactly what to do next time I fine a pretty perfume stopper…

    Yes. I haven’t been keeping up with the blogs lately. Sorry.

    So many of those mini perfume bottles have jewel-like stoppers. I’m sure you’ll find one soon and make a really fancy pendant. Or earring, if you find two!

Leave a Reply

