MHL Upcycle: Make Accessories from an Old Belt, Part 2

Hello, lovelies!  This is part two of my latest MHL Upcycle.  If you haven’t read part one, I featured a leather bag tag I made from a old red leather belt I got at Union Thrift.   Today I’ll be sharing the other accessory I made: the silver studded leather cuff.

I’m really excited about this one. 🙂  Here it is!

For this project, I used the hole-y end of the belt (haha!).

It took me some time to figure out how to keep the cuff in place.  In the end, I decided to use large snaps.  I measured the cuff and marked where the snaps should be.  I used a push pin to make holes into the tough leather (again, with lots of elbow grease), and threaded in some wire to keep the snap in place.

Then I attached the partner snap on the other end.  Now, since this is the visible end of the cuff, I added a silver rectangular bead on the opposite side to hide the wires.  This bead also gives me something to hold on to when I’m snapping the cuff closed.

To cover the belt holes, I chose more silver beads.  The first picture shows that I used more of the silver butterflies that I used for my leather bag tag, but I actually ended up alternating them with rose-engraved round beads.  I just threaded the beads this time using brown nylon thread.  Wires would have been less comfy against the skin.

Now, here’s a very good tip.  Wonder why both projects don’t show signs of having been cut?  It’s because I coated the exposed leather with dark red nail polish.  Good, eh?  It also helps protect the leather from wear and tear.

So, there it is!  My very own one-of-a-kind silver studded leather cuff!  I’ve been wearing it for the past couple of days and it’s a delight to look at.  I’m also happy to report that, so far, the snaps have kept it on my wrist even as I’m doing my chores.

I still have some parts of the belt: 7 silver animals, bits of red leather, and a silver buckle.  I have yet to think of a project for them but I know I’ll cook something up eventually.

I hope you enjoyed this project!  Have a lovely day! (Blows a kiss.)

5 thoughts on “MHL Upcycle: Make Accessories from an Old Belt, Part 2

  1. Cecile Myers says:

    Now I’ll think twice before throwing old belts away. I have so many that I never use. Maybe turning them into something else will be better. Great post! I will be checking back here often!

  2. Hi there, Liz! I was just checking if my blog, with its new title and URL, is already searchable when I stumbled on “The Music Teacher” again. You write with depth there and here in “Man Hands Lizzie” you’re oozing with creativity. I hope you’ll have the opportunity again to say more about music education and teaching in the future. Your blogs have the potential to become an excellent source of inspiration for students of creativity and art education. I enjoyed reading your posts in both sites. Thanks! (Right now, I’m in the middle of hatching some ideas for a major paper to be titled “In defense of art education.” I had already done this to values education.)

    Hello, Sir Muega! It’s a delight indeed to find you here. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words of encouragement. That’s the reason why I kept The Music Teacher up. I noticed that many people were still reading my old entries, and I figured that, even though I can’t teach for now, I can still reach out through them. I still have many things to share about teaching and music, but I’m letting the ideas brew for a while longer.

    I’m certain that you made us read your paper on values education. (You are aware that I was a student of yours, right?) Much luck on your latest endeavor. Share it online when you’re done? 🙂

    Peace!

Leave a Reply

