MHL Upcycle: Make Accessories from an Old Belt, Part 1

A couple of weeks ago, B. and I went to the newly opened Union Thrift store.  I went wild at their crafts aisle and bought a whole bunch of stuff mostly for 50 cents each.  I was also able to get a dark blue suede jacket and a couple of belts.  One of the belts that I got was made of sturdy red leather.  It wasn’t really my style and it was worn out in many parts, but it had these adorable silver animal embellishments that I knew I could use for a project or two.  I bought it even though, apart from cutting it up to ‘save’ the silver animals, I didn’t really know what else to do with it.

A couple of days ago, getting tired from sewing my baby pink flowers, I took a rest and started tinkering with the red belt.  While I was removing the animals, I realized I could actually make a couple of accessories: a leather bag tag and a silver studded leather cuff.

First, the leather bag tag!

I decided to use the buckle end of the belt for the bag tag.  Fortunately, the buckle could easily be removed because it was kept in place with snap buttons.  So, snap-snap.  I’m keeping this buckle for a future project.  I went through my craft things and found a silver butterfly bead, a plastic key tag, and a ring binder.  I made holes in the leather using a push pin and elbow grease (it was really tough leather!), and kept the elements in place with pliers and some wire.

Tadaaa!

It’s simple, sturdy, functional, and very pretty.  I enjoy how the red pops against this black leather bag (which is vintage Coach, by the way, which I thrifted for a dollar!)

Watch out for Part 2: my silver studded leather cuff!

One thought on “MHL Upcycle: Make Accessories from an Old Belt, Part 1

  1. I never cease to be amazed by what you can imagine and create with what you find. 🙂

    I like being organized, but I like having “stuff” to tinker with around. I don’t know where to put the “stuff” or how to “organize” them though. :O I find lotsa “stuff” and I have all these ideas in my head, but I always leave those “stuff” around the house, forget my ideas, and then throw the “stuff” away as trash. Haay. 😦

    I also like the red standing out against the black! It’s a delightfully eye-catching accent. 🙂

    Thank you very much, Kooky! 🙂 Sometimes I do get swamped with half-finished projects and have to struggle finding a way to organize them. Often, though, I end up reviving them and they turn into another project so different from its original idea. 🙂 I’ve read your blog. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

