Do You Freecycle? Part 1

Lovelies, it’s raining again and too dark for me to take photos of my next installment for Would You Wear This.  So, sit back and let me tell you about this wondrous thing called Freecycle.

If you go to their website, you will find this:

Like it says, type in your city/town and state and you will find out if there’s a Freecycle group in your area.  When I did this and joined the group that came out from the search, it rejected me because I lived too far from their area.  Had I been accepted, it explained, I would have robbed the ones living in the vicinity of the chance to receive things.  Also, because the area was some 20-30 miles away from where I resided, it would be a waste of fuel to drive there and back.  So, if this happens to you, don’t be discouraged.  Try again and type in your ZIP CODE.  When I did, I found that there was actually a group in my area.

Since B. and I are just starting out and have nothing to give (our shelves are made of boxes, for pete’s sake!), I can only share my experiences on being a Freecycle recipient.  I have been lucky enough to receive a few items from Freecycle.

  • A clothes hamper and laminated tabletop from a lady named Katie.
  • Two sturdy wire shelves from a lady named Meg.
  • An antique cherry wood drawer chest and large gilded mirror from a lady named Ruth.
  • A medium-sized garbage bag of various fabric from a lady named Wendy.
  • Seven large garbage bags of clothes from a lady I can’t name.

Yes, I remember all the names of the Freecyclers I’ve met. Even the last lady but I’ll explain later why I withheld her name. What you need to bear in mind is this: they choose you.  How you are chosen is via different methods.   Some Freecyclers choose the first person who responds to their post.  Some like to get rid of their stuff ASAP so whoever gives the earliest pick up date gets the item.  Sometimes politeness will catch a giver’s eye.  Like Ruth, for example.  She was unloading several big items like the drawer chest, a dresser, a bed, etc.  She received almost a hundred emails but she found most of them too curt or demanding, even.  Like, “I want the dresser”.  Or “I’ll take that off your hands”.  Because the drawer chest had been her grandmother’s, she said she wanted “to give it to someone nice”.  She told me I was the only one who wrote her nicely and that’s why she chose me and gave me the lovely new mirror, too, when I picked it up.

The Freecyclers I’ve met always thank me for helping them clear their homes of unwanted things.  Maybe this gives a lot of potential recipients the idea that they don’t need to thank people or be polite when asking for it.  But I see it as me receiving something I need because, by some cosmic mechanism, I was chosen by them out of hundreds or even thousands (my group has well over 7,000 members).  I don’t often do it but for every three emails I’ve sent asking for an item, I get one reply either telling me it’s already been promised to someone or that I can come and get it.  I should be very grateful.

In Part 2, I shall share some Freecycling tips and a horror story.  Watch out for it, lovelies!

7 thoughts on “Do You Freecycle? Part 1

  1. Pom Pom says:

    I enhoy reading your blog. I am from Jakarta and I like how you writre. I like your outifts too! 😀

  2. Millie says:

    I was at Futureshop today, and there was an employee wearing a button that said “Don’t repair it — Replace it!” Oh consumer culture, you ravenous machine of doom! I shake my fist at you.

    I’ve never done the freecycling thing, but mostly because I a) wear things out and don’t have much of anything to donate and b) haven’t needed anything significant to ask for something. It’s one of those “keep it in mind should the need arise” things.

    “Don’t repair it — Replace it!” <— I'm flabbergasted. It's like "Drill, baby, drill."

    I'm lucky because B. and I had an empty apartment until freecycling came along. We ask only for what we need when it's offered, and my belief is, if it's for us then we get it. If not then maybe we don't need it yet.

    • Millie says:

      I know! I was flabbergasted too, but I figured it was a “you have to wear this button to advertise some store promotion” sort of thing, rather than an individual thing.

      I didn’t know about Freecycle when I first moved into my own apartment several years ago, and since I’ve been toting everything around since then, so I haven’t had much need for it. It’s perfect if you’lre setting up an apartment, though 🙂

  3. cato says:

    that freecycle website looks cool. 🙂 can’t wait for the part 2. 😀

    It is cool. I don’t think it would work back home, though, because most people there use things to death. It’s different here where they are quick to throw things away. Perfectly usable things. It’s sad.

    • cato says:

      that’s true. especially in our household. most of our clothes get used and reused so much that when they break or get holes or whatever, you can’t do anything but downcycle them into rags. i think people over there kasi have too many things. overproduction or whatever. tapos they buy too much din. not really the case here. i think it’s also the reason why there are more obese people over there than here. although i doubt that’s the only reason. 🙂

      I’m happy you were brought up in that recycle-upcycle-downcycle environment. One less household to dump unnecessarily onto the landfills. Many people over here think discarding things is a way of life. They don’t give it a second thought.

      And you’ve been here, right? You know the food portions here? We ate one time at this place where they serve you like 6 catfish fillets on top of a plate full of fried bread called hush puppies. When I got full after eating 2 of the fillets, the waitress came up to me and said, “Oh, woman! What is WRONG with you?” It was funny.

      • cato says:

        it’s all from my mom’s mom. she’s really a freak for recycling. but mostly downcycling ata. but she’s pretty good at it. and sometimes it’s sort of not too good because you keep so many things that you think you can reuse that the house gets full of ‘junk’. haha!

        i think kasi it’s partly also because of looking good. you can’t get a really nice, good-looking, free-from-junk house if you’re keeping things for recycling. and i think people think of redesigning or remodeling rooms a lot to fit tastes and styles or whatever. if it clashes with the ‘new look’, throw it out? :O i’ll never understand it because i never grew up in an environment like that. our house is always a hodgepodge of stuff and i love it that way. 🙂

        er.. nope. i’ve never been to the US. but if i thought European dish sizes were big.. well, i guess i’ll have to keep ordering kiddie meals if i ever go there by myself (for masters or whatever). more often than not i share food with my mom eh. kung minsan di ko maubos dito, pano na doon? haha! 😀

Leave a Reply

