An MHL Open Letter: to the Grumpy Goodwill Girl

BUT all is not lost because B. and I had a very fruitful thrifting trip at the Sears Outlet where he found a snazzy jacket and shirt, and I, 7 pairs of leg wear, including 2 pairs of thick knitted tights that I’ve been looking for even before the start of winter.  And they were just a dollar each! Success!!!

Plus, that Sears Outlet cashier girl was really nice.  Yipee!

Yes, I didn’t brush my hair and let the head band crown my frizzy glory!  And, yes.  I wore mustard tights that could have been more matte.  Oh well.  You live and learn.  Below, I was trying to pose a la Joyful, the green doggy.  Did I succeed?

Brown knitted dress with lace edging:   thrifted back home
Italian flower-printed silk scarf:  thrifted back home (Thanks for the silk scarf tip, Millie!)
Brown patent leather head band:  bought at a bazaar back home for less than a dollar
Yellow bracelet watch:  a gift from my mom’s friend
Mustard tights:   bought at a mall back home for $5.  (I thought then that that was cheap.)
Light brown socks:   Hue, 3 for $18 at Macy’s
Brown boots with swirly design:  Joy and Peace, thrifted back home

This taupe and brown Francois Marot shoulder bag is another one of my greatest finds!  I think I got this one for less than $4 and it’s in very good condition.

Ok, got to go, lovelies.  I have to get ready for a belated Chinese New Year party at a friend’s.  Will take pics, I promise!  Smile! 😀  (And that includes you, grumpy Goodwill girl!)

5 thoughts on “An MHL Open Letter: to the Grumpy Goodwill Girl

  1. Chelsie says:

    I am loving the lace, and the yellow in that outfit! And the cowboy boots… oh how I want nice cowboy boots. But they always have ugly ones at the thrift store. Although I got some rubber boots this weekend, but they’re actually riding boots (but waterproof).

    Cashiers should be a little more friendly. I remember working in retail and I didn’t grump anyone, and I have so much more appreciation for people who are smiley and civil these days. I went to a store today *cough* Urban Outfitters *cough*, and the young girls there were so uncustomer service oriented, the girl didn’t even really look at me but kept talking to her coworker, who wasn’t helping another customer in line, just talking… So in long, I feel your pain.

    I’d love to have a pair of rain boots. Because I have so many boots already, I’m waiting for a real deluge so I can buy one without shame. 🙂

    Hahaha! I like that: “uncustomer service”. That really made my day, Chelsie! 😀 The key word is ‘service’. But they could argue “we never said GOOD service, right?” 😛

  2. sara says:

    I love that dress! The lace edge is such a fantastic touch, and it’s perfect with the mustard tights. Lovely!

    It had the slightest bit of shine that didn’t show on the photos. I think because if more synthetic fiber than natural. But it looks nice and, more importantly, quite warm. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by, Sara!

  3. Your smile in the top photo is the most beautiful thing! And the tights are right snazzy 🙂

    Thank you for the kind words. 🙂

  4. Millie says:

    So many people are wearing mustard coloured tights lately, and it looks so fabulous every time I’ve seen it! I’m impressed at how well the gorgeous scarf matches the tights too. You look fantastic in this outfit!

    And you’re more than welcome for the scarf tip!

    Thanks, Millie! The scarf really did keep my neck warm. 😀 The funny thing about mustard tights is that when I look at the mirror, they look fine. But when I look down, my legs look a lot bigger. It’s like optical illusion!

Leave a Reply

