MHL Tutorial: How to Make Rosettes for your Neck Cascade

Hello, lovelies!  🙂  Here it is, the new neck cascade that I’m doing.  It needs a few tweaks before I can say it’s truly done.  This shade of vibrant blue is so refreshing and a welcome change after all the purple I’ve been handling lately.

This is quite easy and fun to make.  All you need are:

  1. An old button-down shirt or blouse.  I recommend one with a collar because that’s where you’re going to sew your rosettes on.  It doesn’t have to be velvet.  Cotton and other fabric is fine.
  2. Scissors
  3. Needle and thread
  4. Felt.  You can use the same color as your fabric.  In my case, I used black.

STEP 1:  Cut out the collar, cuffs, and applique if there is one.  You will use the collar for this project.  Set aside the cuffs and appliques for later projects.

STEP 2:  Cut your strips.  How many? It depends on how much rosettes you want to put in your neck cascade.  How long? I can’t say because it really depends on your material.  But the longer it is, the better.  You can always cut off extra length you don’t need later.  How wide? If you want small rosettes, make it 3 and a half inches.  If you want them bigger, make it at least 4 and a half inches.

STEP 3:  Fold the strip in half and anchor the outer edges with pins.  This step is optional, especially if you’re really good at hand-sewing.

STEP 4:  Thread your needle and start sewing a running stitch along the edge of the folded strip.  The bigger the space between the stitches, the deeper the folds of the ruching your rosettes will create.  Ruching is a sewing technique in which fabric is gathered to form ruffles.  Experiment with your fabric.  You can easily pull your thread out and resew since you’re using the running stitch anyway.  Important:  do not do a final stitch or cut off your thread.  You’ll need it later on.

STEP 5:  After you’ve stitched through the strip, if there’s any excess fabric (or if you find that you hadn’t cut the strips quite straight), cut it off to create better ruching later.

STEP 6:  Gently pull the end of your thread to create ruching.

STEP 7:  Now that you have your ruffled strip, create your rosette by turning or twisting it.  Then, using the excess thread from your strip, sew the bottom of the rosette to keep it in place.

STEP 8:  Get your felt and cut out a circle.  Sew the rosette onto the felt.  If you feel that you can skip STEP 7 and shape and sew the rosette directly onto the felt, then you’re a better seamstress than me!  Actually, I like doing that extra step to give the rosette a better shape.

STEP 9:  Now that you’ve made several rosettes, you are ready to lay-out your cascade! (Yipee!) Follow the tips below:

That’s it!  I hope you enjoyed reading this tutorial as much as I did making it.  If you have any questions, feel free to ask me.  I’d love to know if this inspires you to make your own neck cascade.  Good luck!  Toodles for now!

Have a joyfully creative and creatively joyful day everyone!
Man Hands Lizzie
5 thoughts on “MHL Tutorial: How to Make Rosettes for your Neck Cascade

  1. mukami says:

    I love this…its sooo very creative and just the thing I was looking for! After I am done with my rosettes I am definately trying this out! thank you!

  2. mariaa says:

    Thank-you for the photos!! I googled out tutorials on how to make rosettes and the instructions were so confuzzling, espesh without any pictures! 🙂 I am trying this idea right now, thanks.

    You are very welcome, Maria! Enjoy your rosettes! 😀

  3. Man, now there’s ANOTHER project I have to do! Did you put a fastener on the back of the collar, or does it just slide over your head?

    Good question. For this particular collar, I’m thinking of just sliding it over my head because I’m planning to sew the rosettes in a way that I can still unbutton it. I have to admit I haven’t tried it on yet so I’ll have to see if that can really work. I’ll let you know how it works out when I’m done with it. Thanks, Katie!

  4. orchidsinbuttonholes says:

    Thank you for this wonderful tutorial! The pictures and instructions are great. The neck piece is fantastic!

    Thank you very much! I’m glad you like the neck piece and the tutorial. I took the pictures in a span of several days because I’ve been waiting for good natural light. Let me know if you’re going to make your own. 😀

Leave a Reply

