MHL Presents: the Purple Wrist Lei

Finally, I was able to take a nice shot of the Purple Wrist Lei!

The lei is made of 3 rosettes embellished with wooden and semi-precious beads.  The rosettes and the wrist band upon which they rest are made from the same rich velvet button down shirt I used for the Purple Cascade.  Everything is hand-sewn.  Believe me, I must have pricked myself  a dozen times while making this, but the bloodshed is all worth it.

I’ve been wearing the Purple Wrist Lei for a couple of days now and I just can’t stop staring at it.  The darned thing makes me smile.  And it’s sooo soft and light.  It doesn’t get in the way of work because it fits snugly around my wrist.

You know how sometimes you fumble to fasten the clasp of your bracelet, especially when you’re trying to put it on alone?   That’s why I added a chain!  It keeps the lei on the wrist so I can fasten it by myself.

Sorry about the pics.  Do you know how hard it is to take a shot of your own wrist using a heavy camera?  I must have wasted some 50 shots on fingers, my shoes, and the carpet.  Imagine if I were still using film?  Egad!  So hooray for digital cameras! (Even if you are still a mystery to me.)

Here is today’s outfit:

Today, I chose to look like Barney.

Violet Mesh Turtleneck:   thrifted
Black V-neck Blouse:   thrifted
Purple Knee-length Skirt:  thrifted
Purple Tights:   at some store back home, but possibly thrifted (heehee)
Dark Navy Blue Lace-up Boots:   Staccato, thrifted
The Purple Wrist Lei: Self-made!

By the way, I’m confused about which is violet and which is purple so I’m just guessing about the colors.  Oh, and to that person who told me years ago that I shouldn’t wear pigtails because it makes me appear like I’m trying hard to look young, if ever you’re reading this, you can kiss my butt.

Have a joyfully creative and creatively joyful day, everyone!
Man Hands Lizzie
6 thoughts on “MHL Presents: the Purple Wrist Lei

  1. That wrist lei is really cool, it DOES look “soft and light”. Do they sell those on shelves? If so, I think that would make a great birthday present etc. Maybe it will hit a spark and shoot up in popularity and everyone will be wearing a wrist lei. 🙂

    Thanks for the compliment! 🙂 I don’t think it’s on the shelves just yet (or if it will ever catch on!). I haven’t been wearing it because of the summer heat. Maybe when fall comes, it will be something people would want to wear. 🙂

  2. I love it. The wrist lei is simply amazing. It’s looks so good I could eat it. 🙂

    Thank you so much for the kind words, Summer. I, too, sometimes wish it were edible (that’s an idea… a snack you can wear on your wrist!). Haha! Thanks for dropping by!

  3. orchidsinbuttonholes says:

    I love the way the wrist lei turned out! It’s so different and eye catching (and I love the purple). Also, those boots are fantastic. Love your action shots!

    Stay warm!

    Thanks! 😀 I’m happy you like the wrist lei. It was a labor of love, as are all my other pieces. The boots don’t look it but they’re comfy!

  4. I love it! I especially like the “action shot” of you and lei. It reminds me of Wonder Woman and her magical bracelets. And I must now learn to arrange photos like you did.

    Hahaha! I’m glad you like it. 🙂 Those were the last two shots of many. I’m trying to master how to be comfortable in front of the camera without looking too much like an excited ape.

  5. dennise says:

    Well at least you’ll stand out in traffic…

    …which could save my life when I need to cross the street! :p

  6. dennise says:

    hehe , did you go out dressed in purple?

    Haha! I haven’t gone out today because it’s bitterly cold, but if I have to, YES! I will go out wearing this outfit. At least I’m not wearing my purple boots. That would have been overkill. 🙂

Leave a Reply

