MHL Project Preview: the Purple Wrist Lei

When I was making the Purple Cascade, I had to figure out how to make the kind of rosettes that would show off the sheen and the hue of the velvet fabric.  And for my first attempt I sewed beads on the rosettes thinking it would look better.  Ultimately, I decided against it and was left with 3 unsuccessful prototypes.

BUT that’s the beauty of creativity!  Sometimes our so-called mistakes turn into wonderful new ventures.  Playing around with the prototypes, I wrapped them around my wrist and realized that the beads really played up my skin color.  It works better as a bracelet, or a wrist lei, as I call it, because I’ll be using all 3 rosettes to wrap around the wrist.  Anyways, here is a pic of one of the rosettes:

Unfinished rosette.

Sadly, this pic doesn’t capture the lovely colors as is.  I wish I knew how to use artificial light to photograph purple perfectly.   Help, someone!

Today, I decided to dress as if I live in an unheated apartment.  Which I do.  Hahaha!

These boots are soft and snug. I have another one of these in black.

White button-down shirt: Levi’s
Violet cardigan:  Promod
Scarf:  B. and I found this during the Martin Luther King parade hanging on a plant.  It was brand new.
Light pink bonnet: Roeckl (thrifted)

Tortoiseshell glasses:  >Anne Marie Perris (thrifted this for a dollar!)

Black capri pants (sorry, Tim Gunn):  Bossini (thrifted)
Stripey brown socks:  Hue
Light gray boots:  Le Saunde(thrifted for less than 2 bucks!)
 

It’s another depressingly gray day so I kept the parol on throughout the day.  A parol is a 5-point star with 2 tails and is lit during the Christmas season, but B. and I decided to keep it lit until the Chinese New Year.

B. made this for Christmas. Isn't it loverly?

 
Have a joyfully creative and creatively joyful day everyone!
Man Hands Lizzie
4 thoughts on “MHL Project Preview: the Purple Wrist Lei

  1. Olga L. says:

    This is fabulous! I wish I had your creative-sense. Do you sell your creations or make them for yourself only? For people like me who don’t have your talent, it would be great to know if we can have one of these without making them, because we cant! Let me know please!

    Thank you for the kind words, Olga. Actually, I’ve been toying with the idea of selling but I don’t think I’m quite ready yet. But I’ll let you know when I am. 🙂 Thanks again!

  2. Meg says:

    This is pretty! I love how the wrist lei looks on you. Is it hard to make? Please post a tutorial for this, too!

    Thanks, Meg. Have you seen the rosette tutorial I posted? It’s just a matter of making rosettes and sewing them onto a band for your wrist. It’s easy but if you want it neat, it will take some time to make. Let me know how it goes! Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

  3. Millie says:

    I love that scarf, and to find it on a plant is great luck! You look so toasty, cold apartment or not 🙂

    Thanks, Millie! Yes, it was great luck and will always have that air of mystery about it because of where I found it. 🙂

  4. cuz says:

    the rosette really reminds me of jollibee’s ube flavored ice craze or halo halo :)).

    love the patterned socks which stand out on their own and the scarf. 🙂

    advance chinese new year btw. 🙂

    Hahahaha! Now that you mention it, it does look like halo halo ube with pinipig bits! Advance Chinese New Year to you, too, Merri! I really appreciate you reading my blog. :==) <— tears of joy

Leave a Reply

