Of Change and Compromise

Still working on the Purple Cascade neck piece.  During the process of doing it, I decided to go on a different direction.  It’s a bit more complicated but I’m hoping it will be worth all the trouble in the end. 

As my subtitle, Tactile Concoctions, imply, I feel more creatively alive if I can touch the materials I’m working on.  Although I worked the idea out in my head, and then, as B. suggested, drew it, as I started touching the fabric and the beads, my hands guided me towards another incarnation of the neck piece which involved a lot of experimenting and undoing the whole of yesterday.  When there is unintentional change of plans, I first get slightly disappointed my original idea didn’t work.  But after that initial reaction, I welcome it.  It has happened so often that I am certain everything will work out in the end.

B. worked alongside me.

We very much enjoy each other’s company even when busy with our own thing, but this is the first time he entered my “territory”, a.k.a my workstation.  I’m rabidly territorial, private, and have always worked in solitude.  My parents understood my need to be alone and let me get away with locking myself in my room undisturbed.  You could say, in that aspect, they let me have my own way for years.  Which is why, now that I’m with B., I’m torn between being with him and wanting to hide in my room. I’m slowly learning that it’s safe to let him in.

Outfit of the Day:

Burgundy v-neck  sweater: thrifted
Skirt: Morgan, thrifted
Metal necklace: store back home
Metal and stone bracelet:  from my mom
Slouchy boots:  Puzzle, thrifted
Wide low-waist belt: Diesel, thrifted
Bonnet/beret:  Roeckl, thrifted
 

Ok, back to work!

 
Have a joyfully creative and creatively joyful day everyone!
Man Hands Lizzie
One thought on “Of Change and Compromise

  1. taty says:

    yah, MARRIAGE!! such a huge darned adjustment
    🙂 hehehe..

    True! I’m lucky, though, that I married my best friend. 🙂 It makes things a bit easier.

Leave a Reply

