Afraid of the Machine

The sewing machine.

Mine.

Mr. Whitey

You know how sometimes something daunts or mystifies you, and the longer you ignore  it, the scarier it seems?  Well, I’m daunted and mystified silly by this machine.  I used to sew on my mother’s antique Singer sewing machine.

from the spokesmanreview.com

Kinda like this.

It’s the kind made of 100% steel; where you sew and, at the same time, sweat because you have to pedal to make it run.  I know how to use that.  And my mother bought this pedal attachment you can put on an old machine so you don’t have to lose calories while sewing.  I know how to use that, too, because I was still sewing on the same machine with its knobs and switches with which I was familiar.  I love that machine.  My hands can still recall its cold yet inviting surface.

Before I left home, my mother surprised me and gave me the White automatic sewing machine that an aunt bought for her here.  Yes.  Ironic, isn’t it, that this machine had traveled all that way to merely return home with me?  Anyways, I was overjoyed and excited to have it, thinking of all the projects I can do.  But I haven’t sewed for years, so now, I am afraid.  But I have to get over this fear because I’m thinking of doing some sewing on my Purple Cascade piece.  Why am I so wimpy???

Is sewing on a machine much like never forgetting how to ride a bike?

Anyways, here’s today’s outfit.  I had more lighting issues because of the weather so pardon the crappy picture.  It’s Saturday and I wanted an outfit that was easy, light, and comfortable.  Too lazy to think of color, I chose black and topped it off with a white poncho. To make it less boring, I wore a pair of statement metal earrings.  I like the way they sway when I move my head.

Ok, project time. Toodles! 🙂

 
Have a joyfully creative and creatively joyful day everyone!
Man Hands Lizzie
Leave a Reply

