How-To: Line an Oversized Hat, Part 2

This project is fairly easy.  I’m using my cloche as guinea pig but you can do this on any kind of hat, I guess.   

Major skill:  sewing the invisible stitch

What you need:

I didn’t have an extra hat lying around to use as lining so I bought this cheap-o hat from Walmart for $3.  I was hoping to find a thin one that I can sew directly inside my hat but all I could get was this knitted one with a soft lining.  

No worries.  I can use the lining and then keep its knitted partner for a future project. 

Now, onto the show.

Step 1.  Preparing the Lining

Use the seam ripper to remove the lining from the cheap-o hat.  Skip this part if you were lucky enough to have an old cap lying around, or find a thin skullcap at a store. 

Step 2.  Hat Meets Lining

I find the label handy in pointing out which part of the hat is front.  If there is one, remove your oversized hat’s label.  You can stitch it back in later, if you want.  Mark where the label was with masking tape. 

Position the lining inside the hat.  Anchor it by sewing in thread and tying the ends loosely for easy removal.  If your hat and lining is black like mine, use a light thread; if they’re light-colored, use dark thread.   This way you can easily spot the anchors.

Step 3.  Invisible Stitching

The invisible stitch is by far my favorite stitch.  It’s great for sewing in seams, it’s invisible (therefore MAGIC!), and is so easy to do. 

I took pictures of myself doing some stealthy stitches and used white thread so you can easily see the action against the black hat and lining.  The pictures are kind of blurry because I took the pics myself on my hubster’s phone camera while sewing and that’s not easy a feat.

If your hat is knitted, say a bonnet which can be stretched, the most important thing to remember about doing the invisible stitch is to keep them stitches slightly loose because you need a bit of slack for the hat to keep its stretchability. 

Here is a pic of my finished invisible stitch row.  Again, phone camera and self shots, so sorry.

Step 4:  Snip off and Wear

You’re almost ready to wear that new hat!  All you need to do is snip off the anchors.

If you want, re-sew the label on, and that’s it! 

Here’s a before and after of my new hat:

If you notice, the after pic shows that hat no longer covers my eyes.  The lining inside provides a kind of cushion for my head and, therefore, sits upon it quite snugly. 

I hope this helps all of you with oversized hat (or undersized head) problems.  ‘Til next time! 

Leave a Reply

